When searching, “DUI attorney Boston MA,” look no further than the Law Offices of Keren Goldenberg
Being arrested for drunk driving happens to many people. We know that when it happens, it’s easy to feel ashamed and scared. Massachusetts takes drunk driving offenses very seriously which is why it is so important that when you search for “DUI attorney Boston MA,” you choose a top attorney like Keren Goldenberg.
What is defined as drunk driving in Massachusetts?
We say “drunk driving” and “DUI” all the time. And if you search “dui attorney Boston ma,” you’ll find lists of attorneys that will be able to represent you. However in Massachusetts, “drunk driving” is legally referred to as an OUI, or “operating under the influence.” Regardless of what you call it, it’s always referring to the same thing: you are being charged with allegedly operating a vehicle while not sober. Alcohol is not the only substance that can impair your driving. Narcotics are also included, which is why it is “under the influence.” OUI lawyers in Boston, MA can help individuals facing such charges get acquitted or at least help them get the minimum legal penalty.
In Massachusetts, there are additional alcohol and drug-related laws pertaining to operating vehicles. For example, the Massachusetts DMV, says that “you can’t drive with an empty liquor bottle in your backseat, nor have a passenger drinking a can of beer. Break this law and you face a $100 – $500 fine.”
What does my alcohol limit need to be to get arrested for an OUI?
DUI attorneys in Boston, MA often have clients facing legal repercussions either because of a failed breath test or because they refused a breath test. The legal limit of an individual’s BAC (blood alcohol content) can depend on age and circumstance.
- 0.08% or higher―Drivers 21 years old or older operating regular passenger vehicles.
- 0.04% or higher―Drivers operating commercial vehicles.
- 0.02% or higher―Drivers younger than 21 years old.
If you are lawfully arrested for an OUI, in Massachusetts, you are required by law to consent to a breathalyzer test in order to determine your BAC. Otherwise referred to as the “implied consent” law, if you refuse to take the test, your license will be automatically suspended for 6 months if this is your first OUI offense (3 years suspension if you are under 21).
How can a DUI attorney Boston MA help you with your charges?
In cases concerning drunk driving, DUI lawyers in Boston (and throughout the state of Massachusetts) have little flexibility if their clients are found guilty because many of the penalties and legal repercussions are mandated by statute. This means that if found guilty, there is not much room for the judge to change the penalties.
However, with a tough and aggressive DUI attorney in Boston, MA, they can help you beat the criminal charges. Keren Goldenberg, for example, and her team have defeated DUI charges in Lowell, MA .
You can learn more about OUI laws and penalties in Massachusetts here. But if you or someone you love has been charged with drunk driving, it’s crucial to protect yourself and hire an attorney with experience and knowledge who can help you through the defense process.