An experienced Boston DUI lawyer with a proven track record can make all the difference in your case
In Massachusetts, if you are charged with an OUI (Operating Under the Influence), you could be facing hefty fines or even jail time. If you or someone you love has been charged with an OUI, the best course of action is to secure an aggressive and experienced attorney. If you were charged in Massachusetts and in need of a Boston DUI lawyer, do not hesitate to contact the Law Offices of Keren Goldenberg, a criminal defense law firm known for successful and experienced legal advocacy for their clients. For a free consultation, contact us here today (617) 431-2701.
The limitations of a Boston DUI lawyer
There are many specific variables that can affect the legal repercussions of being convicted of such charges. Whether it is your first offense or your third offense, or whether or not there was any damage or injury caused, the penalties will vary greatly.
Moreover, some of these penalties and legal consequences are state-mandated. This means that within the Massachusetts legislature, there are statutes that indicate the exact penalty related to a certain offense. This means that the judge has little discretion to be flexible in his ruling if you are convicted of illegally operating under the influence.
Despite these limitations, Boston DUI attorneys can still help build a strong defense. Without proper representation and legal advocacy, you may consequently face life-changing consequences.
Blood Alcohol Content
If you are above the legal drinking age, any blood alcohol content (BAC) measured with a breathalyzer test that is above .08 percent is considered to be an OUI. If you are underage, the BAC limit is .02 percent. In Massachusetts, the law dictates that an OUI can be elevated to an aggravated violation if the BAC limit is .20 percent or higher. A conviction of aggravated violation can lead to greater prison terms and heftier fines.
A BAC test, also known as a breathalyzer, falls under Massachusetts “implied consent” laws. This means that when you register and receive a driver’s license, you are also consenting “to field sobriety tests and chemical tests to determine impairment.” If you refuse this test when law enforcement asks you to comply, you may have your license automatically suspended and face other fines or penalties.
Penalties for a First Offense
Upon your arrest for an OUI, your license will be automatically suspended at that moment. To reinstate your license, there is a separate process you must go through with the Massachusetts RMV. Part of the advantage of hiring a Boston DUI lawyer is that they will offer you assistance in both the legal and administrative processes.
An attorney may be able to help you avoid conviction. However, if you are convicted, statute dictates that the fines are between $500 and $5,000, 1-year license suspension, and up to two and a half years in prison. There is, however, alternative sentencing that includes two years probation, shorter license suspension in combination with participation in a mandatory alcohol education program and/or community service.
Protect yourself with legal representation
Ultimately, the best way to protect yourself from a possible conviction and/or the legal outcomes of such a conviction is to hire a knowledgable OUI attorney. Keren Goldenberg has successfully defended and won OUI cases in Boston. Contact the firm now for support on your case. Your future deserves the best legal advocacy. (617) 431-2701